Where To From Here? A Post-Biden Victory.

Atheist Bale
9 min readNov 7, 2020
Keep wearing masks!

Today I am reminded of the famous quote from President Kennedy in his 1961 inaugural address:

“Ask not what your country can do for you — ask what you can do for your country.”

It is as catchy a quote as it can be, and one with good intentions, though lately I have found myself analyzing it more and more. While we can contribute to our society and strive for altruism, ultimately, a government should work for its people. What can my country do for me? Can it provide me security, a home, the guarantee of my own health? And for millions of people in the United States, purportedly the greatest nation in the history of nations, that is not the case. The United States government has failed them. We have failed them. Because while we can look to the government and see them as lazy, incompetent, apathetic, self-centered people there for a paycheck, we have to remember who voted (or worse, didn’t vote) them into office. And that’s us.

I believe the past 4 years have been a learning experience in just precisely how critical politics are. It is a matter of life and death for people around the world, not just in one’s own country. What affects one nation will affect…

--

--

Atheist Bale

I’m not a pessimist, I’m correct. Follow me for troglodyte slaying 101.